*Source: Marketplace Ad Pros — canonical version at https://marketplaceadpros.com/guides/amazon-subscribe-and-save-audit/*

# How to audit your Amazon Subscribe & Save offers

There is a particular kind of Amazon problem that has no error message. Your product is selling
below the price you set. You did not create a coupon. You go looking for the discount, you do not
find one, and you eventually decide the price must be right after all.

Often it is Subscribe & Save. Not because anything went wrong, but because an S&S discount is
shaped differently from every other discount on Amazon. It has no badge, no budget and no campaign
page. It is a standing percentage attached to the offer, and it can sit in any one of four separate
fields, so a check that reads only the most familiar one misses a discount sitting in the other three.

The same shape causes a second, quieter problem. An offer's enrollment eligibility can change so
that no new subscriber can sign up, and that change often happens silently. So an offer can sit
that way while you carry on assuming enrollment works.

This guide is the audit: what the four discount fields are and which of them costs you money, how
to find offers that can no longer take subscribers, how to read Amazon's delivery forecasts against
your stock, and why none of this appears in any Amazon report you can schedule.

*Last updated: September 10, 2026*

*Verified as of 2026-09-10.*

---

## How do you audit your Amazon Subscribe & Save offers?

Read all four discount fields on every offer, not just the seller-funded base one, because a discount can sit in any of them. Filter the offers by eligibility to find any that are SUSPENDED or INELIGIBLE and so cannot take new subscribers. Then read Amazon's forecast deliveries against stock on hand. None of this appears in any Amazon report you can schedule, so it has to be read from the offer configuration directly.

---

## 1. What the question really is

Amazon gives sellers several ways to discount a product and they behave differently enough that the
mental model for one actively misleads you about another. A coupon is a campaign with a budget, a
window and a clippable badge. A deal is an event. A price change is a price change.

Subscribe & Save is none of those. It is a property of the offer: a configured percentage that
applies to subscriber deliveries, with no budget to spend down and no campaign page to open.

That is the whole difficulty. Every habit you have for finding a discount is a habit for finding a
campaign, and this is not a campaign. The configuration is also per SKU, and no verified Amazon
report carries it, so "what discounts am I running" has no schedulable answer.

---

## 2. The method

### The four discount fields

Amazon can return a discount percentage in any of four places on a single offer:

| Field | Whose margin |
|---|---|
| Seller-funded base discount | Yours |
| Seller-funded tiered discount | Yours |
| Amazon-funded base discount | Amazon's |
| Amazon-funded tiered discount | Amazon's |

A percentage in any one of them discounts the SKU. This is the single most consequential fact in
this guide, because the seller-funded base discount is the one people know about, and code or a
manual check that reads only that field will report no discount on a product that is plainly
discounted. When we first built against this data, the seller-funded base field was the only one
that appeared in the account we had — which is exactly how you end up shipping a check that is
right on your own catalogue and wrong on someone else's.

Two practical rules follow. Read all four, every time. And treat an empty field as **not reported**
rather than as zero percent, because those are different claims and only one of them is supported.

### The eligibility values

Each offer carries one of four eligibility values: `ELIGIBLE`, `INELIGIBLE`, `SUSPENDED` or
`REPLENISHMENT_ONLY_ORDERING`.

`SUSPENDED` and `INELIGIBLE` both mean the offer cannot take new subscribers, and Amazon does not
announce the transition. A stock-risk flag sometimes accompanies the value, which is a clue about
the cause rather than a guarantee of it.

We deliberately do not tell you what `REPLENISHMENT_ONLY_ORDERING` implies, because we have not
verified a meaning for it. Notice whether you have any, and treat the value as information rather
than as a diagnosis.

### Why this can block a coupon

A coupon's price has to beat the item's reference and recent-lowest price, and Subscribe & Save
*sales* can be what set that floor. So a coupon can be rejected because discounted subscriber
orders already pulled the recent-lowest price down. Note the distinction: it takes redeemed sales
to move that floor, so a configured percentage on its own does not establish that it happened.

Take that as one candidate explanation, not as the answer. Amazon exposes no validation reason
through any API, and coupons get rejected for several reasons. What you can do is check whether a
configured S&S discount is in the neighbourhood of the number that would explain the rejection.

### Forecasts against stock

Each offer carries Amazon's forecast deliveries over the next 15, 30, 60 and 90 days, alongside an
inventory figure. Compare the horizon that matches your own restock lead time against stock on
hand.

Two honesty constraints on this calculation. These are **forecasts**, not committed orders, so size
the decision to that uncertainty. And if you are counting bulk stock in Amazon Warehousing and
Distribution, keep it labelled separately from FBA: AWD sits upstream of FBA and its units have to
be transferred before they can fill a subscription, so adding the two into one total overstates
what you can actually ship.

---

## 3. Doing it without the Replenishment API

Here is the part that makes this genuinely awkward: **there is no verified Amazon report source for
configured Subscribe & Save offer state.** The configuration lives behind a synchronous API
endpoint rather than a report you can schedule, so there is nothing to put on a schedule.

What that leaves you is working backwards from what already sold. Do not simply subtract the
realised price from your list price: that difference can contain a coupon, an Amazon-funded top-off
or a plain price change, and attributing all of it to Subscribe & Save is how you end up confidently
wrong. Identify the promotion first, then do the arithmetic.

1. Pull your order data for the SKU over a window long enough to contain subscriber deliveries,
   including the promotion identifiers and the per-item promotion discount.
2. **Identify which promotion each discount belongs to** by its identifier. A `PLM-` prefix followed
   by a UUID is a Seller Central promotion, meaning a coupon or a percentage-off. `Subscribe and
   Save Promotion V2` and `FBA Subscribe & Save Discount` are Subscribe & Save. A `Top_off_3P-`
   prefix is an Amazon-funded top-off rather than anything you configured.
3. For the rows that are Subscribe & Save, divide the item promotion discount by the item price.
   That ratio is the discount percentage, derived from the promotion Amazon actually applied rather
   than from a price difference you attributed yourself.
4. Repeat across SKUs, because the percentage can differ per offer.
5. Negative-control the result against the account's other ASINs before concluding that nothing is
   running on one. These rows show only what **redeemed**, so an absence is not evidence that no
   promotion exists.

That works, and we have done it: diagnosing one customer's configured discount took roughly six
queries across order and settlement data, with the percentage recovered by arithmetic rather than
read from a field.

But look at what the method cannot do.

It only sees SKUs that **already sold at a discount**. If an offer is suspended, no new subscriber
enrolled, and the absence of sales is indistinguishable from a product nobody wanted. There is no
arithmetic you can perform on an empty result set that tells you enrollment is broken. Eligibility
is invisible to this approach entirely, and eligibility is the half that costs you a growing
subscriber base.

It also gives you a number for the past rather than the present. You are inferring what was
configured at the time of a sale, and if someone changed the percentage last week you will not know
until enough new orders accumulate to shift the arithmetic.

---

## 4. What breaks at scale

The back-from-settlement method scales with the number of SKUs that **sold**, not the number of
offers you have. That is the wrong denominator. The offers you most need to hear about are the
suspended ones with no recent sales, and those are precisely the rows the method cannot produce.

Even reading the configuration directly has a ceiling. Amazon's own endpoint returns at most 100
offers per request and refuses an offset beyond 9000, which tells you plainly that the data was
designed to be paged by software rather than reviewed by a person. A catalogue large enough to run
past that cap needs a caller that reports where it stopped, because a silently truncated list looks
exactly like a clean bill of health.

And it is per marketplace. A seller across the US, UK and Germany has three separate audits, each
returning its own set of offers and its own eligibility values.

---

## 5. Doing it with AI

None of the above needs a specific vendor. Any assistant connected through MCP to a data source
that exposes Amazon's Replenishment offers endpoint can run this audit, because the work is
reading four fields per offer, filtering on an eligibility value, and comparing a forecast against
an inventory number. What it requires is that the connection actually returns all four discount
fields rather than the obvious one, preserves nulls instead of coercing them to zero, and tells you
when it stopped paging.

Marketplace Ad Pros exposes it that way. Connect Seller Central and ask your assistant what
discount is configured on a SKU, or which of your offers can no longer take new subscribers, and it
reads the live offer configuration. It is read-only: nothing here changes an offer, and Amazon
exposes no API to create or change coupons, promotions or deals in any case. Customers can find the
copy-paste questions in the [Subscribe & Save Offer Playbook](https://app.marketplaceadpros.com/resources/subscribe-and-save-playbook).

This reads Seller Central accounts only: a Vendor Central account is refused outright, and whether
Amazon's model covers vendors at all is untested. Amazon documents support for a limited set of
marketplaces: the US, Canada, Spain, the UK, France, Italy, India, Germany and Japan for sellers.

---

## Frequently asked questions

### Is a Subscribe & Save discount the same as a coupon?

No, and the difference is why it gets missed. A coupon is a campaign: it has a budget, a date range, a clippable badge on the listing, and a place in Seller Central where you go to look at it. A Subscribe & Save discount is none of those. It is a standing percentage attached to the offer itself, applied whenever a subscriber's delivery goes out, with no badge and no budget to spend down. So a seller who sees a price below the one they set goes looking for a coupon, finds none, and concludes the price must be right. The discount is real and it is configured, it just does not live where people look for discounts.

### Why is my product selling below list price when I did not set a coupon?

A configured Subscribe & Save discount is one explanation worth checking first, because it applies without any of the signals a coupon gives you. There are four separate fields it can live in: a seller-funded base discount, a seller-funded tiered discount, an Amazon-funded base discount and an Amazon-funded tiered discount. A percentage in any one of them discounts the offer, so checking only the obvious field can return no discount on a product that is plainly discounted. Treat this as a lead rather than a diagnosis. Confirming it means looking at what actually redeemed: your order and settlement data carry promotion identifiers that separate a Subscribe and Save discount from a coupon or an Amazon-funded top-off.

### What does SUSPENDED mean on a Subscribe & Save offer?

Amazon returns one of four eligibility values on each offer: ELIGIBLE, INELIGIBLE, SUSPENDED or REPLENISHMENT_ONLY_ORDERING. An offer that is SUSPENDED or INELIGIBLE cannot take new subscribers, and that often happens silently. It is therefore worth checking on purpose rather than waiting to be told: an offer can sit in that state while you assume enrollment is still working. A stock-risk flag sometimes accompanies the value, which is a clue about the cause rather than a guarantee of it.

### Who pays for a Subscribe & Save discount, me or Amazon?

Either, and the offer data distinguishes them. Two of the four discount fields are seller-funded and two are Amazon-funded, in each case split between a base discount and a tiered one. The distinction matters before you decide a discount is too expensive to keep, because a seller-funded percentage comes out of your margin while an Amazon-funded one does not. A SKU can carry values in more than one field, so read all four rather than the first one that returns a number, and treat an empty field as not reported rather than as zero percent.

### Can Marketplace Ad Pros change my Subscribe & Save discount?

No. The Subscribe & Save reading described here is read-only: it reports what is configured on each offer and changes nothing. Amazon also exposes no API for creating or changing coupons, promotions or deals, so those remain Seller Central operations. This reading covers Seller Central accounts only; a Vendor Central account is refused outright. What reading the configuration does buy you is knowing what is actually set before you go and change it by hand, and knowing which offers cannot accept a new subscriber no matter what you set the discount to.

## Related reading

- [Amazon inventory and advertising intelligence](/amazon-inventory-advertising-intelligence/) — reading demand signals against stock
- [Amazon Selling Partner API explained](/guides/amazon-selling-partner-api-sp-api-explained/) — what the SP-API does and does not expose
- [Amazon reports through an AI assistant](/amazon-reports/) — the report catalogue and how to query it
- [Best Amazon inventory and restock tools in 2026](/guides/best-amazon-inventory-restock-tools-2026/) — if you are evaluating something to carry this
- [All guides](/guides/)

*Verified as of 2026-09-10. Amazon changes Seller Central labels and API behaviour without notice;
this page is re-verified quarterly.*
