How to audit your Amazon Subscribe & Save offers

There is a particular kind of Amazon problem that has no error message. Your product is selling below the price you set. You did not create a coupon. You go looking for the discount, you do not find one, and you eventually decide the price must be right after all.

Often it is Subscribe & Save. Not because anything went wrong, but because an S&S discount is shaped differently from every other discount on Amazon. It has no badge, no budget and no campaign page. It is a standing percentage attached to the offer, and it can sit in any one of four separate fields, so a check that reads only the most familiar one misses a discount sitting in the other three.

The same shape causes a second, quieter problem. An offer's enrollment eligibility can change so that no new subscriber can sign up, and that change often happens silently. So an offer can sit that way while you carry on assuming enrollment works.

This guide is the audit: what the four discount fields are and which of them costs you money, how to find offers that can no longer take subscribers, how to read Amazon's delivery forecasts against your stock, and why none of this appears in any Amazon report you can schedule.

Last updated: September 10, 2026

Verified as of 2026-09-10.


How do you audit your Amazon Subscribe & Save offers?

Read all four discount fields on every offer, not just the seller-funded base one, because a discount can sit in any of them. Filter the offers by eligibility to find any that are SUSPENDED or INELIGIBLE and so cannot take new subscribers. Then read Amazon's forecast deliveries against stock on hand. None of this appears in any Amazon report you can schedule, so it has to be read from the offer configuration directly.


1. What the question really is

Amazon gives sellers several ways to discount a product and they behave differently enough that the mental model for one actively misleads you about another. A coupon is a campaign with a budget, a window and a clippable badge. A deal is an event. A price change is a price change.

Subscribe & Save is none of those. It is a property of the offer: a configured percentage that applies to subscriber deliveries, with no budget to spend down and no campaign page to open.

That is the whole difficulty. Every habit you have for finding a discount is a habit for finding a campaign, and this is not a campaign. The configuration is also per SKU, and no verified Amazon report carries it, so "what discounts am I running" has no schedulable answer.


2. The method

The four discount fields

Amazon can return a discount percentage in any of four places on a single offer:

Field Whose margin
Seller-funded base discount Yours
Seller-funded tiered discount Yours
Amazon-funded base discount Amazon's
Amazon-funded tiered discount Amazon's

A percentage in any one of them discounts the SKU. This is the single most consequential fact in this guide, because the seller-funded base discount is the one people know about, and code or a manual check that reads only that field will report no discount on a product that is plainly discounted. When we first built against this data, the seller-funded base field was the only one that appeared in the account we had — which is exactly how you end up shipping a check that is right on your own catalogue and wrong on someone else's.

Two practical rules follow. Read all four, every time. And treat an empty field as not reported rather than as zero percent, because those are different claims and only one of them is supported.

The eligibility values

Each offer carries one of four eligibility values: ELIGIBLE, INELIGIBLE, SUSPENDED or REPLENISHMENT_ONLY_ORDERING.

SUSPENDED and INELIGIBLE both mean the offer cannot take new subscribers, and Amazon does not announce the transition. A stock-risk flag sometimes accompanies the value, which is a clue about the cause rather than a guarantee of it.

We deliberately do not tell you what REPLENISHMENT_ONLY_ORDERING implies, because we have not verified a meaning for it. Notice whether you have any, and treat the value as information rather than as a diagnosis.

Why this can block a coupon

A coupon's price has to beat the item's reference and recent-lowest price, and Subscribe & Save sales can be what set that floor. So a coupon can be rejected because discounted subscriber orders already pulled the recent-lowest price down. Note the distinction: it takes redeemed sales to move that floor, so a configured percentage on its own does not establish that it happened.

Take that as one candidate explanation, not as the answer. Amazon exposes no validation reason through any API, and coupons get rejected for several reasons. What you can do is check whether a configured S&S discount is in the neighbourhood of the number that would explain the rejection.

Forecasts against stock

Each offer carries Amazon's forecast deliveries over the next 15, 30, 60 and 90 days, alongside an inventory figure. Compare the horizon that matches your own restock lead time against stock on hand.

Two honesty constraints on this calculation. These are forecasts, not committed orders, so size the decision to that uncertainty. And if you are counting bulk stock in Amazon Warehousing and Distribution, keep it labelled separately from FBA: AWD sits upstream of FBA and its units have to be transferred before they can fill a subscription, so adding the two into one total overstates what you can actually ship.


3. Doing it without the Replenishment API

Here is the part that makes this genuinely awkward: there is no verified Amazon report source for configured Subscribe & Save offer state. The configuration lives behind a synchronous API endpoint rather than a report you can schedule, so there is nothing to put on a schedule.

What that leaves you is working backwards from what already sold. Do not simply subtract the realised price from your list price: that difference can contain a coupon, an Amazon-funded top-off or a plain price change, and attributing all of it to Subscribe & Save is how you end up confidently wrong. Identify the promotion first, then do the arithmetic.

  1. Pull your order data for the SKU over a window long enough to contain subscriber deliveries, including the promotion identifiers and the per-item promotion discount.
  2. Identify which promotion each discount belongs to by its identifier. A PLM- prefix followed by a UUID is a Seller Central promotion, meaning a coupon or a percentage-off. Subscribe and Save Promotion V2 and FBA Subscribe & Save Discount are Subscribe & Save. A Top_off_3P- prefix is an Amazon-funded top-off rather than anything you configured.
  3. For the rows that are Subscribe & Save, divide the item promotion discount by the item price. That ratio is the discount percentage, derived from the promotion Amazon actually applied rather than from a price difference you attributed yourself.
  4. Repeat across SKUs, because the percentage can differ per offer.
  5. Negative-control the result against the account's other ASINs before concluding that nothing is running on one. These rows show only what redeemed, so an absence is not evidence that no promotion exists.

That works, and we have done it: diagnosing one customer's configured discount took roughly six queries across order and settlement data, with the percentage recovered by arithmetic rather than read from a field.

But look at what the method cannot do.

It only sees SKUs that already sold at a discount. If an offer is suspended, no new subscriber enrolled, and the absence of sales is indistinguishable from a product nobody wanted. There is no arithmetic you can perform on an empty result set that tells you enrollment is broken. Eligibility is invisible to this approach entirely, and eligibility is the half that costs you a growing subscriber base.

It also gives you a number for the past rather than the present. You are inferring what was configured at the time of a sale, and if someone changed the percentage last week you will not know until enough new orders accumulate to shift the arithmetic.


4. What breaks at scale

The back-from-settlement method scales with the number of SKUs that sold, not the number of offers you have. That is the wrong denominator. The offers you most need to hear about are the suspended ones with no recent sales, and those are precisely the rows the method cannot produce.

Even reading the configuration directly has a ceiling. Amazon's own endpoint returns at most 100 offers per request and refuses an offset beyond 9000, which tells you plainly that the data was designed to be paged by software rather than reviewed by a person. A catalogue large enough to run past that cap needs a caller that reports where it stopped, because a silently truncated list looks exactly like a clean bill of health.

And it is per marketplace. A seller across the US, UK and Germany has three separate audits, each returning its own set of offers and its own eligibility values.


5. Doing it with AI

None of the above needs a specific vendor. Any assistant connected through MCP to a data source that exposes Amazon's Replenishment offers endpoint can run this audit, because the work is reading four fields per offer, filtering on an eligibility value, and comparing a forecast against an inventory number. What it requires is that the connection actually returns all four discount fields rather than the obvious one, preserves nulls instead of coercing them to zero, and tells you when it stopped paging.

Marketplace Ad Pros exposes it that way. Connect Seller Central and ask your assistant what discount is configured on a SKU, or which of your offers can no longer take new subscribers, and it reads the live offer configuration. It is read-only: nothing here changes an offer, and Amazon exposes no API to create or change coupons, promotions or deals in any case. Customers can find the copy-paste questions in the Subscribe & Save Offer Playbook.

This reads Seller Central accounts only: a Vendor Central account is refused outright, and whether Amazon's model covers vendors at all is untested. Amazon documents support for a limited set of marketplaces: the US, Canada, Spain, the UK, France, Italy, India, Germany and Japan for sellers.


Frequently asked questions

Is a Subscribe & Save discount the same as a coupon?

No, and the difference is why it gets missed. A coupon is a campaign: it has a budget, a date range, a clippable badge on the listing, and a place in Seller Central where you go to look at it. A Subscribe & Save discount is none of those. It is a standing percentage attached to the offer itself, applied whenever a subscriber's delivery goes out, with no badge and no budget to spend down. So a seller who sees a price below the one they set goes looking for a coupon, finds none, and concludes the price must be right. The discount is real and it is configured, it just does not live where people look for discounts.

Why is my product selling below list price when I did not set a coupon?

A configured Subscribe & Save discount is one explanation worth checking first, because it applies without any of the signals a coupon gives you. There are four separate fields it can live in: a seller-funded base discount, a seller-funded tiered discount, an Amazon-funded base discount and an Amazon-funded tiered discount. A percentage in any one of them discounts the offer, so checking only the obvious field can return no discount on a product that is plainly discounted. Treat this as a lead rather than a diagnosis. Confirming it means looking at what actually redeemed: your order and settlement data carry promotion identifiers that separate a Subscribe and Save discount from a coupon or an Amazon-funded top-off.

What does SUSPENDED mean on a Subscribe & Save offer?

Amazon returns one of four eligibility values on each offer: ELIGIBLE, INELIGIBLE, SUSPENDED or REPLENISHMENT_ONLY_ORDERING. An offer that is SUSPENDED or INELIGIBLE cannot take new subscribers, and that often happens silently. It is therefore worth checking on purpose rather than waiting to be told: an offer can sit in that state while you assume enrollment is still working. A stock-risk flag sometimes accompanies the value, which is a clue about the cause rather than a guarantee of it.

Who pays for a Subscribe & Save discount, me or Amazon?

Either, and the offer data distinguishes them. Two of the four discount fields are seller-funded and two are Amazon-funded, in each case split between a base discount and a tiered one. The distinction matters before you decide a discount is too expensive to keep, because a seller-funded percentage comes out of your margin while an Amazon-funded one does not. A SKU can carry values in more than one field, so read all four rather than the first one that returns a number, and treat an empty field as not reported rather than as zero percent.

Can Marketplace Ad Pros change my Subscribe & Save discount?

No. The Subscribe & Save reading described here is read-only: it reports what is configured on each offer and changes nothing. Amazon also exposes no API for creating or changing coupons, promotions or deals, so those remain Seller Central operations. This reading covers Seller Central accounts only; a Vendor Central account is refused outright. What reading the configuration does buy you is knowing what is actually set before you go and change it by hand, and knowing which offers cannot accept a new subscriber no matter what you set the discount to.

Related reading

Verified as of 2026-09-10. Amazon changes Seller Central labels and API behaviour without notice; this page is re-verified quarterly.